The Singapore Investment Banking Association (SIBA) was incorporated into ABS’ charter.


Chairmanship began to be rotated among the Big Four local banks, namely, Development Bank of Singapore (DBS Bank), OCBC Bank, Overseas Union Bank and United Overseas Bank (UOB). With effect from 2001, the Chairmanship was rotated among the three local banks namely, DBS Bank, OCBC Bank and UOB.

A Permanent Secretariat was set up to provide continuity of service.


ABS was formed in 1973 following the termination of the Interchangeability Agreement on Currency between Singapore and Malaysia. Its predecessor was the Association of Banks in Malaysia and Singapore.

The Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation (now known as OCBC Bank) assumed Chairmanship of ABS for the first nine years.